Search: Search
User  Name:   
Join Free
Simone Development
What is Remember My ID  
Fairfield County Medical Association
Newspaper In Education
State News
Vendor News
Calendar of Events
Trade Shows
Career Section
Resource Directory
Contact Us
Jump to Story
Please enter the story number in the box obove you would like to immediately access
Online Subscription Form
Media Kit
Web Hosting Hospital Newspaper
Bridgeport Hospital recognizes over 300 employees and physicians for providing excellent patient care and service
Story Number is : 032210106
Bridgeport Hospital

Left to right, Kathy Del Re of Shelton and Bridgeport residents Maritza Martinez and Joan Reid received the top employee award for service excellence at Bridgeport Hospital’s Academy of Making the Difference Awards.
Surgeon Mary Pronovost of Easton (center) was named physician of the year at Bridgeport Hospital’s recent Academy of Making the Difference Awards. Standing with her, left to right, are hospital Chief Operating Office Hope Juckel-Regan, President & CEO Bob Trefry, Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs Bruce McDonald, MD, and Medical Staff President Robert Folman, MD.
More than 300 of employees and physicians were recognized for service excellence during Bridgeport Hospital’s seventh annual Academy of Making the Difference Awards on Feb. 3 at Fairfield University’s Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts.

Joining the elite group of “Golden Globe” winners with 100-plus career mentions of service excellence from patients and colleagues were Kathy Del Re of Shelton, a support technician in the One Stop Testing Unit, and Bridgeport residents Maritza Martinez, a nurse, and Joan Reid, a patient care technician, both on the Orthopedics-Neurosurgery-Urology Unit.

Breast surgeon Mary Pronovost, MD, of Easton, medical director of the Norma F. Pfriem Breast Care Center, was named Making the Difference Physician of the Year for being the doctor who received the most positive feedback from patients and colleagues in 2009, and for reaching the 99th (highest) percentile in patient satisfaction as measured by surveys returned by patients.

The occasion was also marked by the premiere showing of a video featuring staff from several departments and units around the hospital.

Departments and units recognized for their service excellence included Human Resources, the Medical ICU, Performance Management, the hospital’s physicians, the P.T. Barnum Pediatric Center, the Pulmonary Medicine Unit and Radiation Medicine.

The Academy of Making the Difference Awards ceremony is presented by the hospital’s Reward & Recognition Committee, whose members include Joel Bing, Lynn Charbonneau, Linda DiGianvittorio, Susan Garrison, Lisa Kosinski, Susan Kostopoulos, Kelly Malasics, Ivan Miranda, Patti Strasburger and Donna Travali.

More News From This State
Career Section click here
Health Spaces
Career Section click here
Long Term Care Directory
Career Section click here
Hospital Newspaper Columns
Advertise Here
Hospital Newspaper
Advertise Here
Hospital Newspaper
Advertise Here